Attack of the Grandmother

22 Nov

My damn internet has been down all day! Unfortunately, my blackberry is my only option. I have a lot to talk about today and my thumbs might fall off! Alright let’s get to it!

My sweet, darling, loving grandmother is going to be in town in less that 24 hours. For. 15. Days. Why my mother thought this was gonna be a good idea is beyond me! Don’t get me wrong, I love my grandmother, she’s my grandma, but by god she drives me crazy. Its always “When are you going back to school”, “Why would you quit your job?”, “You should really lose some weight” (or gain weight if she is talking to Layla-the baby sister). However, being the good daughter I am, I plan on picking her up from the airport with my mom, staying the night at Mom’s and going shopping for Thanksgiving the next day. Better to get all the stuff that annoys me out of the way in the beginning. She can be fun-sometimes-but most of her attempts end up to be disasters!

Let me start off by saying this, when I was younger I loved being at grandma’s house! It was so much fun and we always did fun stuff, but when I was young that’s all I focused on. As I got older, I realized she was a few screws loose in the noggin. Once we drove around for 2 hours looking for a put-put course in Ft. Wayne, IN (where grandma lives). Then there was the time when we took a Greyhound Bus from Ft. Wayne to Tampa (where I live). Quick back story-Layla has a har time flying because of her ear. Its extremely painful for her, so parents decided to have grandma ride the bus with us, Layla and I were only 13 and 8 at the time. The trip was only supposed to take 36 hours tops. It took us 4 days. We lost our luggage, got on the wrong bus, and during all of this Grandma didn’t think it was a good idea to pick up a phone and call my parents. Mom and Dad filed a missing persons report and hired a private investigator to find us. Crazy right? So, now you know why I’m not exactly super excited about her visit. Not to mention I saw her in April for about 5 days, and the whole 5 days I cleaned and organized her apartment. You don’t even want to know what that’s like. I had pictures, if I can find them I will post them.

I’m sure I will have new stories to share. She will be here for 15 days. I just hope a melt down doesn’t occur. She has a tendency to make me crazy.

Leave a comment