Kids these days….

22 Nov

There are days when I hear about things kids are doing now and I can’t help but wonder what they are thinking most of the time. Then, there are days when I am pleasantly surprised. The boy in the video, who is 14 years old, spoke so beautifully at a school board meeting defending a teacher who was suspended because he removed a child from his class that was using gay slurs. It was by far one of the most moving speeches I have ever heard.

This is just one of many children who have decided to speak up against gay bullying-but not just gay bullying, but bullying in general. Bullying is such a problem these days. It breaks my heart. I know what its like to be bullied. Not only for being gay, but just because kids are mean. To see such a young person stand up the way he did makes me feel like things could change. People are people.

We all need to make the effort to change the world. Isn’t that what we all want. If we all started to look at the glass half full, I think we could accomplish amazing things. Like Ellen always says at the end of her show, “Be kind to one another”.

Leave a Reply

