Little Orphan Annie

2 Dec

Oh, Little Orphan Annie! I’m watching the movie now as we speak-uh type. Layla (my favorite little sister) and I are feeling nostalgic. When Layla was a little girl, she used to watch this movie over and over and over.  When I would come home from school it would be at the same part everyday! I’m 25 years old and my 20-year-old sister and I are watching Annie. If you think that’s bad, you wouldn’t even want to know what other pathetic movies we have watched recently. Four words, Mary-Kate and Ashley. Oh yes, I went there.

Now, before you think I am a complete loony toon, let me explain.  My sister is 5 years younger than me.  That is a pretty large age gap.  I also used to have to baby-sit her, A LOT. So, to keep her from annoying me to death, I would watch anything to keep her occupied.  As long as I was in the same room with her she was fine (cute right? Sure, it is now, but not when you are on the brink of your teenage years and you little sister has to follow you around like your shadow). We would watch Double, Double Toil and Trouble, Our Lips Are Sealed, Winning London, Holiday in the Sun (Yes, there are that many Mary-Kate and Ashley movies), etc. Anyways, these movies were a big part of our childhood. They make us smile, even though they are so ridiculous.

Even though it’s a little sad that I admit that I have watched these movies as an adult, I have realized that its okay. There is always an important lesson to be learned in the movie, and I think it really can help children grow. You might think I’m crazy, but I think things like that are important to your childhood and what shapes you into an adult.

2 Responses to “Little Orphan Annie”

  1. Michael G. December 2, 2010 at 10:42 pm #

    I am a movie freak. I spend far too much of my spare time watching movies. I blame Annie for that. It was the first film I saw in the movies. I was 3 and completely taken by it.

    • Chloe Sullivan December 2, 2010 at 10:47 pm #

      Its so good to know I’m not the only one!! I can’t help but sing along and be in a good mood. Sometimes I think if everyone had a little bit of Annie in their lives, they would be much happier too 🙂

Leave a Reply

