Clever title should go here about talk or text.

4 Jan

My brain is not working today.  Probably due to the headache that won’t go away.  I’m really not feeling it today, but I know if I don’t post now it will never happen.  I guess this is already one of those days I’m thankful for the Post A Day 2011 topic.  So, which do I prefer-text or talk?

I have to say, it kind of depends on the person and the conversation.  For example, with my sister and my best friend texting is the way to go.  Layla, my sister, rarely uses anything other than text messages.  Usually the rule of thumb is, if it’s important she will call.  Same with my best friend.  If it’s important she will call, if not its best to text.  She doesn’t even have her voice mail set up on her cell phone.  As far as the conversation is concerned, if I’m trying to get my point across or it’s a detailed conversation, whoever is on the receiving end better pick up their phone.

I don’t know though.  I’m kind of torn.  I feel like we are losing touch with people.  E-mail, text messaging, Facebook, Twitter.  There is hardly any REAL human interaction.  Why would you need it?  Facebook and Twitter allows you to update the world on the fact that you are eating a bad sandwich while waiting on the doctor who has made you wait an hour and your dog needs to be picked up from the groomers.  Wow, awesome.  To be honest, I don’t really care.  I want to know how you are doing. I want to see your face when you tell me how great or crappy your day was.  I want to know if you are lying or telling the truth. I want to know who you are not what you are doing.

OMG! Side note: This is on topic.  A little. Okay, so maybe not a lot, but it involves Facebook and is pretty interesting.  I stumbled on this last night.  It’s about what happens to your Facebook after you die. Craziness!

Don’t get me wrong, I post stupid stuff on my Facebook too. I just think we need to start taking the time to truly connect with one another.

Leave a Reply

