“I’m stuck!!!”

6 Jan

I have a fabulous story to share.  It’s not about a memorable job interview because I don’t have a memorable job interview, but its a funny story.  Let me preface this my saying, my best friend Ashley isn’t really the dress type, but I somehow managed to convince her to go to homecoming one year in high school.  Now, her version is totally different from mine, but my version is the true story.

The year was 2000.  I was 15 years old.  I wanted the high school experience and part of that was attending every homecoming. Of course I didn’t have a date, but I didn’t care.  It would be way more fun with my girlfriends anyways.  After DAYS of debate between Ashley and I, she finally agreed to go to homecoming with me.  Such a good best friend!

Of course we had to go shopping. It was myself, Ashley and our friend Kristin.  We decided to document the experience. Do you remember the Polaroid Mini Cameras? The pictures came out on mini Polaroids that were stickers.  They were so much fun!  Anyways, we went shopping at the “bad” mall (the mall wasn’t in the best part of town but it was the closest to our houses).  We shopped everywhere and managed to strike out completely.

Sears, of all places, was our last stop and we decided to have a little fun.  Instead of finding dresses we actually liked we decided it would be more fun if we found the ugliest, most gaudy dresses to try on.  I found this fabulous pink dress.  It was highlighter pink with sparkles and lots of tulle. It was pretty bad.  I get the dress on, I come out of my dressing room (the handicap room-big dress requires more room), show off my dress, take pictures, giggle, etc, etc.

Contrary to popular belief (really just Ashley), the dress DID fit. I would not try something on that wasn’t my size, especially if it was smaller, that would just be a huge blow to my self-esteem.  Once I got back into the dressing room I tried to get out of the dress. Tried being the key word.  The zipper must have caught in the miles of tulle because I couldn’t get the zipper down.  Me, being the smart person that I am, decided to try to bring it up and over my head.  Yeah, that didn’t work out as planned.

“Guys, I need some help.  I’m stuck!!”  While I was waiting for help from my friends, I managed to get my jeans on so my big butt wasn’t hanging out.  Thank goodness for that or the story could have been even more embarrassing.  Imagine a person with their arms straight up above their head covered in pink tulle and all you can see is their hands and legs.  My face was covered, my arms couldn’t move and I was able to get the door open.  The first thing I hear is hysterical laughing.

“I’m so glad you think this is funny.  Please help me!!!!”  A few tugs and a really loud ripping sound, I fell backwards and Ashley and Kristin fell backwards.  It was like a game of tug of war.  Once I was free I took a good look at the dress and it was ripped almost in half. Oops.  I was 15 and traumatized, so I just hung it back on the rack.  I know now that it probably wasn’t the right thing to do, but it was Sears and like I said, I was only 15.  Ashley and I still tell this story, especially if we are with a group of people who don’t really know us.  It’s a great ice breaker, at my expense.

2 Responses to ““I’m stuck!!!””

  1. Marie January 6, 2011 at 4:18 pm #

    PMSL, oh dear 😀 A very funny story, and great post!

    • Chloe Sullivan January 6, 2011 at 4:23 pm #

      Thank you so much! I really enjoyed writing this one 🙂

Leave a Reply

