Focus, focus, focus

7 Jan

It’s easy for me to get focused.  If it’s a short-term thing that needs to get done, it gets done. My recipe for getting focused? Number 1: Preparation.  I gather everything I need for my project from the computer to a drink to a bathroom break before I start. If you have everything you need right in front of you, you won’t be interrupted by all the “Oh, I forgot something”. I like to make a list.  Lists are good, it helps with priorities and organization. Number 2: Organization.  For me, everything must be organized.  I can’t focus, let alone work if everything is in disarray. I like things in their proper place. Call it what you will, but it helps! Number 3: Background Noise.  I don’t know what it is, but silence freaks me out.  I’m a little paranoid some times and tend to become scared easily.  Its one of my biggest issues-I’m working on it. I must have some music on or the TV on.  Not loud, just loud enough for me to hear once I pull myself out of deep thought.

Now, if we are talking about a long-term thing, well, that’s a different ball game. Starting this blog was focus challenge.  To see how long I could actually keep myself blogging.  I have this problem where I get so focused on something that I become uninterested after a short time.  I’ve started a million different things, and haven’t finished a single one (except for 2 knitting projects, but that is still new to me). I think part of my problem is I throw my self completely into something and then I burn out.

Now, its time for a change.  It’s time for me to actually complete something and it starts now.  Thus far, and with much help from The Daily Post at WordPress, I’ve managed to complete 7 days of blogs in a row.  This is a huge accomplishment and I am proud.

Leave a Reply

