Bravery

18 Jan

Before I get into my daily post, I have to say thank you!  By the end of the day yesterday I received 44 views on my blog! Those 44 views pushed my all time views to over 200.  I also received a slew of comments yesterday and today and I am so grateful.  Everyone’s comments have been so positive and inspirational.  I can’t say thank you enough, because it has really given me the boost I need to make this even better!  Suggestions on what I can do better, or what you would like to see are always welcome!  Thank you again for the wonderful words 😀

On to the good stuff.  When I think of bravery I instantly think of my mother.  My mother is the most beautiful, kind, caring, funny, and every other wonderful personality trait you could imagine.  This world (at least mine) is a better place with her in it.

After many years of my father’s alcoholism and drug addiction, my mother finally called it quits.  My dad was ruining her life.  Every penny my parents earned was thrown away because of my dad’s selfishness.  My sister was going through her own drug issues and my mom needed to focus on her.  After all, Layla was only 16 and she was my mom’s top priority.

I will never forget it.  After almost 30 years of marriage my mom told my dad to leave.  It was the hardest thing I’ve ever seen her do, but she did it with such dignity.  I would have to say that she is the bravest person I know.  My mom made the decision to start all over at the age of 45. She lost everything and has struggled since. But she does so with a smile on her face so her two daughter won’t worry.

Now, her New Year’s Resolution is to start dating again.  Dating, at 50! If that’s not brave, I don’t know what is!  I’m so proud of my mom. She has come so far after what my dad did to her.

For the women who feel like they’re in a marriage/relationship that is sucking the life out of you, here is my message to you. You don’t have to put up with it.  You can always start fresh.  There is nothing on this earth that is stopping you.  You’ll be supported by your friends, family and anyone else you let in. You will always have a support system.  If my mom can do it, so can you!

4 Responses to “Bravery”

  1. corisel January 19, 2011 at 2:46 am #

    Great Post. Your Mum is a great example to other women.

  2. humanitarikim January 18, 2011 at 1:49 pm #

    Life is too short to be unhappy. Good for her and kudos to you for helping her celebrate it! Also, congratulations on the increased viewer-ship for your blog!! I love looking at my stats, too. 🙂

    • Chloe Sullivan January 18, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

      Now that I know people like what I have to say I can’t seem to get enough! I’ve gotten quite the ego-boost!

  3. scriptorobscura January 18, 2011 at 1:35 pm #

    I love this, and I love the cartoon! 🙂
    Bravo to your mom for her bravery and for being such a wonderful example and inspiration to you.

Leave a Reply

