Catfish

19 Jan

Last night I watched a documentary called Catfish. No, it isn’t about noodling for catfish. I first heard about this movie while I was watching The Ellen Show. The way the movie they described had me completely intrigued.  Here is how they showed it on Ellen:

Do you see why I was so interested?  I was completely shocked by the end of the movie.  Part disgust and part pity.  You have to watch this movie to understand where I’m coming from.  It is totally worth watching. Here is the trailer:

Ellen was right, they do portray this movie as some sort of back woods horror film.  I assure you, it is not. Seriously, you must watch this movie!  Once you watch it, I’d like to know what you think.

6 Responses to “Catfish”

  1. neuroticnotes January 20, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

    Hey Chloe,

    Totally agree that this film is worth a watch. I found it intriguing and quite uncomfortable at times. I found myself wondering whether it was actually real, and if it was, whether it was exploiting the people affected.

    I was waiting for the twist, so did see it coming, but what I found more interesting was how the main character handled it. I think it was fairly realistic – how else would you address the person who had done that? You could still see he was uncomfortable questioning her about her motives though. And she was weirdly proud of pulling it off at some points I thought.

    Did you think it was real?

    • Chloe Sullivan January 20, 2011 at 6:38 pm #

      I defiantly think it was real. I was shocked at how nonchalant the woman was! And you could tell that she was in love. I’m still trying to figure out why she did it, and what other crazy things she’s done.

      I feel bad for those who were on Facebook without their knowledge, as well as Nev. Poor guy :/

  2. aquatom1968 January 20, 2011 at 4:51 pm #

    I have the same problem in the UK… I saw the second clip OK though… I’ll pop over to You Tube soon…

    • Chloe Sullivan January 20, 2011 at 6:41 pm #

      Is there a website that you use that would be better than YouTube? I would hate to post videos and people not be able to see them!

  3. corisel January 20, 2011 at 1:47 am #

    Ahhhh – so annoying. When I clicked on the first link I had a message: “This video is not available in your country” Happens ALL the time in Australia. 😦

    • Chloe Sullivan January 20, 2011 at 10:18 am #

      Oh no! Well, I got the videos from youtube so you can try going directly through them, or you can go to The Ellen Show website. They should have the first video posted there! I’m sorry that it didn’t work for you :/

Leave a Reply

