Quacks and Scammers Continued

26 Jan

Quick update! I had 3 legitimate interviews today and they all went very well!  Woot woot!  Hopefully something will come of them.  Now on to the scammers.

Yesterday I told you about all the scammers I’ve encountered and most of them I have spotted easily.  Although, I got caught off guard by one.  When I responded to this particular scammer’s ad, it seemed legitimate at first.  I was responding to an actual Yahoo e-mail account and not some random website.  So I thought.  I received and e-mail back state that the weekly wage was $785.  That is A LOT of money for a weeks worth of work.  They asked for some basic info, name address, and the like, which is pretty harmless because its public information for the most part.  I went ahead and sent the info also stating I had a few questions.  Apparently, that didn’t matter to the scammer.

Today I received this e-mail:

 

Here is your first assignment.  The funds for the donation has been sent and you will be getting it today ” 26-01-2011 ” via FedEx courier service here is the tracking number( 875091406541    ). The payment was sent to your home address so ensure you stay at home so you can sign the for the delivery of the package.
I contacted the orphanage home, and I was given the list of the items to be bought, the items are much and will cost a lot to get them shipped, so we have reached an accord. They will be getting the items themselves all you need do is just to receive the money, have it cashed at your bank  and have the funds sent via western union money transfer to the orphanage home. Remember to deduct your first week salary from it and send the rest money to Orphanage

Below is the Orphanage Western Union information to send the funds..
Receiver’s  NAME:        DAVID SCHELL
ADDRESS:                2 QUINCE STREET
DENVER, COLORADO,80247
Kindly get back to me with the Western Union MTCN #, the Total Amount sent, and the Sender’s Name and Address as soon as you have the funds sent.
NOTE:YOU ARE TO DEDUCT YOU FIRST WEEK SALARY( $400 ) AND HAVE THE REMAINING BALANCE SENT TO THE ORPHANAGE HOME.

I will be waiting to read back from you ASAP and I also have some other assignment for you to do by Friday
I want you to be rest assured that I’ll never stress you at all in any assignment given to you and i promise to pay your fee weekly as we both agreed.
Take good care of yourself and have a blessed day. Kindly get back to me Asap.
For Further enquiries reach me at ” 720 641 9829

Today is my Birthday so i will be very busy, send me an email when you have the Money transfer details for me.
Best Regards.
Clement Trapi

 

 

I really didn’t think much of it because I had 3 interviews today.  Once I got home, low an behold there was a Fed-Ex envelope addressed to me.  I opened it up and the only thing in there was a cashier’s check for $2,650.  Who on earth sends a check in that amount (or any amount for that matter) without even seeing their face.  It just seemed off.  I decided to do some research and I’ve made an executive decision to say that this is a scam.  When I Googled the name on the check I was refered to a website all about different scams with this person’s name.  I most certainly did not cash the check, although I wish I could.  Instead, I reported the incident to the FBI and hopefully my information will help stop all the garbage.
I wasn’t kidding when I said I would help take down the scammers.  Now the fun begins!
If you think you have been scammed or know some one who has you can report it to the FBI here.

 

 


 

12 Responses to “Quacks and Scammers Continued”

  1. Spiffy July 23, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

    As scary as it sounds it does happen… This person targeted my wife… Name changed to lippi.. Same send to name.. Sent 1650$ cashiers check which I called the bank (golden1 out of Cali) which they verified the check as having been cashed long ago.. Upon further discussion with bank they have requested copies of all materials… And wish to bring this individual to justice… The federal govt has stepped in and is now tracking ip address and cell phone used… The number is still the same… If someone sends you a check and wants you to wire transfer funds ask them why they don’t just do it themselves… It is humorous to listen to the excuses…

  2. jamie June 3, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

    unfortunatley i deposited these mony orders and i am scared as hell what is going to happen

  3. scott vitaioli April 20, 2011 at 5:58 pm #

    I think I’m got a new version of the old scam described here.

    After responding to the email I later noticed another email in my spam box the same as the first but with a different family name. Unfortunately I had already responded to the one in my inbox. The check came in a regular envelope with only a check inside, address had written, no return address, and with a 67pence stamp along with a royal air mail sticker.

    Here is a copy of the original email.

    Hello,
    Hope this message finds you well, I’m Chris Mass and my wifes name is Sharon
    Mass.
    We are relocating to your area from London United Kingdom to do some contract
    basis with Environmental Protection Agency on a private research work.

    However, we need someone who will help us to take care of the house by doing the
    house work while we are at work, someone that will also help in running some
    errands.
    We will be offering you an amount of $500.00 weekly. We will need your services
    twice a week at any suitable time of yours at a time of your choosing, (Morning
    or Evening) between Tuesday and Sunday.

    If you believe you are fit for this position, in as much you can prove yourself
    to be a reliable and good person. My personal assistant that is based in the
    “States” will be handling the payment after a background check.
    I will instruct him to issue the first two weeks payment, so as to secure your
    service after hearing from you. You will receive a check, which you will deduct
    your first two weeks pay and you will be use the remaining balance to buy
    foodstuffs and other things needed in the house before our arrival date which
    will be at the end of the month.
    I will also instruct my personal assistant to mail the keys of the house to you
    so that you can do all the other necessary preparations before we arrive. I will
    also email you the shopping list.

    To get started with the work, e mail us the under listed information so that
    we verify your identity to ensure you have no or little criminal record(s)
    before we proceed and embark on the next stage of the recruitment process.
    We usually allow 1-3 days at the average for verification process to be
    completed.

    Full Name:

    Address, Apt number and Zip code:

    Age:

    Gender:

    Phone number:

    Acceptance of offer:

    All I need from you is total honesty and sincerity and you could enjoy working
    for us.

    I will be look forward waiting to hearing from you. Thanks Sincerely,

    Chris

  4. Flossie April 15, 2011 at 12:38 pm #

    This same person fooled me for a second as well. I replied to a job posting but he was going by the name: Dondey Coler dondeycoler@yahoo.com. His first reply was saying things like, let’s try out this business relationship. I had questions too, but it wasnt till I sent a reply saying”you did not answer my questions.” he said that Oil and Gas international was the company. By the third email of the job “assignment” he finally revealed the sending of a check to my home address, what big business would need my address for clients to send payments too? Completely unprofessional, and that is when I contacted fraudwatchers.com to go over my emails from his with a fine tooth comb. I tell you this to aid you in your search to bring down scammers and to put this fake name out there, because when I googled it I got nothing.

  5. Danielle March 25, 2011 at 9:46 pm #

    I answered a job posting for Mystery Shopping and got a $2850 check via fed ex. I have contacted the Tru West Credit union (routing # is in fact valid) to advise them of this, the Mystery Shopping Co whose name they are using (who is legit), and I am making a police report tomorrow.
    I also told off “Frank James”, and told him if he wants to scam, at least make it look more real – i.e.: proper grammar!

  6. Tina Brim March 25, 2011 at 6:49 pm #

    The same exact thing with the same exact letter and check for $2850.00 came Fed Ex to my address today. see below the email I received:
    From:
    gerald skipti [Chat now]

    Hello Tina Brim.

    Here is your first assignment. The funds for the donation has been sent and you will be getting it today ” 25-03-2011 ” via FedEx courier service here is the tracking number http://www.fedex.com ( 872821692190 ). The payment was sent to your home address so ensure you stay at home, so you can sign the delivery of the package.

    I contacted the orphanage home, and I was given the list of the items to be bought, the items are much and will cost a lot to get them shipped, so we have reached an accord. They will be getting the items themselves all you need do is just to receive the money, have it cashed at your local bank and have the funds sent via western union money transfer to the orphanage home. Remember to deduct your first week salary from it and send the rest money to Orphanage home.

    Here is the orphanage information to send the rest of the money to:

    NAME: James Skipti
    Address: 60 Hyde Park Gate –
    Kensington London sw7 5bb UK

    Kindly get back to me with the Western Union MTCN #, the Total Amount sent, and the Sender’s Name and Address as soon as you have the funds sent.

    NOTE: YOU ARE TO DEDUCT ( $400 ) PART OF YOUR SALARY AND HAVE THE REMAINING BALANCE SENT TO THE ORPHANAGE HOME.

    I will be waiting to read back from you ASAP and I also have some other assignment for you to do First thing Monday morning.e.g Posting Advertisement on local new paper or craigslist.org, Representative for the company on Monday.. After the assignment your balance of your salary will be mail out to you ” $385″

    I want you to be rest assured that I’ll never stress you at all in any assignment given to you and i promise to pay your fee weekly as we both agreed.

    Take good care of yourself and have a wonderful day.

    Kindly get back to me Asap. For Further enquiries reach me at ” 720 641 9829

    Best Regards.

    Mr Gerald Skipti

    I sent him a reply to fact that I did not feel comfortable with the whole situation and that I would be sending his check back. I asked that he reply as to where I should forward the check (with no response, my husband called the Bank on which the funds were drawn on). He was told by the Bank (TRUWEST Credit Union) that the check was fake and to go ahead and destroy the check and that the person who sent it was trying to scam me. The my husband investigated the phone number he had given to me to call him back. And found this site attached to the number. So please do not fall for this scam. Be forewarned and forearmed.

  7. Dave February 6, 2011 at 2:38 am #

    I just got suckered into this just from answering an ad for a job!
    Still confused as to how they benifit by sending me a cheque?
    But I am now going to report it to the RCMP and show it to them.

    • Chloe Sullivan February 6, 2011 at 3:06 am #

      They benefit because the check bad. Once you cash the check in your bank, then send the cash via Western Union the check ends up bouncing and you are left with the $2600 debt. Not only are you left with an outrageous debt, but you could also be charged with check fraud for cashing a bad check. Crappy, right?

      I’m just glad that my post has helped others who are legitimately trying to find employment and constantly run into scammers. It’s just plain wrong!

  8. Abby Andrews February 4, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    I received the same email and the SAME fed ex package with a cashiers check for 2,650. The only thing that was different for me was the name. I wanted to ask you what you did with the check. I want to be done with all of this and I don’t want to be responsible for this money. Did you send it back to the address that sent it to you?

    • Chloe Sullivan February 4, 2011 at 3:55 pm #

      I decided to keep the check and the Fed-Ex envelope because I filed a report with the FBI (the link is in the post) and if they needed anything I would be able to send it. Just write VOID across the check if you decide to do the same thing. If not you can just shred it.

  9. scriptorobscura January 26, 2011 at 6:27 pm #

    Thank you for sharing your experiences and for alerting others to this! Thank you for the valuable information!

    • Chloe Sullivan January 26, 2011 at 6:43 pm #

      You are so welcome! Everyone deserves (and needs) to know this info! People are struggling as it is and something like this could set you back thousands of dollars. Thats what life is all about, helping each other out 😀

Leave a Reply

