Getting Back To Books

3 Feb

One of the things on my list for 2011 is to read 20 books.  Have I started this yet? Nope-fail. I’ve been a little preoccupied with other things, like blogging or job interviews.

Seriously though, I really want to read 20 books.  I just don’t know where to begin.  I stared Bram Stoker’s Dracula

This copy helps break down the story with footnotes and such.

 

about a month ago and have yet to finish it.  Mostly because it’s kind of scary. I absolutely HATE being scared! It is in no way fun to me.  Plus, I like reading before I go to bed and whatever I’m reading tends to be in my dreams. Therefore, Dracula=scary dreams.

My other problem is I don’t know what books to read.  Do I want to read only fiction or mix it up? Should I just read the classics, because everyone should read the classics? What about New York Times Best Sellers? Aaaahhhhh! There is just so much to choose from!  For instance, I found this article on 30 books everyone should read and another article on 100 books for the lifelong learner.  Then of course my english major of a best friend sent me a list of books people should read before 30.

I guess the best place to start would be Dracula.  I need to finish it.  I will just have to read it during the day.

Does anyone have any book suggestions?

2 Responses to “Getting Back To Books”

  1. neuroticnotes February 3, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    Personally, I think it’s a lot easier to find things to read if you can work out what kind of books you like. There’s no point forcing yourself through the classics if you aren’t going to get anything from it.

    Books should stimulate you and give you enjoyment. They should enrich your life. They should inspire you.

    One tip would be to read books of films that you have seen that you love – that way you know you like the story and can appreciate the different imagining of it in written form.

    Personally, I’d start with a book that is fairly easy to read and it’s a challenge. Maybe give up on Dracula for now – in my experience if you stall with a book you shouldn’t push on because you’ll be on autopilot just trying to get to the end. You’re in a battle with that book – you no longer care about what it says, you just want to prove you can complete it. Until you stop feeling like this your reading will be affected by your attitude.

    I book I loved which I found really moving and effective is “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nightime” by Mark Haddon. It’s short, poignant, original and well written. It’s about a young boy with Aspergers and how he copes. I’d recommend it highly.

    • corisel February 6, 2011 at 2:07 am #

      Great recommendation: The Curious Incident of The Dog in The Nightime is excellent!

Leave a Reply

