I Have Never Seen Star Wars

12 Feb

That’s right. I have no problem admitting it. Here’s the thing. I’ve never really been into to the Sci-Fi genre. I’m sure all you Star Wars fans are probably cursing me right now.

Now, when I decided to watch them I decided to watch them in order. So, last night I watched the 3 prequels. Yup. Three Star Wars movies in a row. And you know what? I actually liked them.

Star Wars: Episode I-The Phantom Menace, the first of the prequels, was my least favorite.  Before you get all huffy, let me explain. This movie is a little boring, because it is doing the “set-up” of all the characters and the story.  Just like in the first season of television shows.  They can be hit or miss because they are mostly introduction.  Which to me, is what the first movie really does. Having said that, I still enjoyed the first movie.  Little Anakin is adorable, it’s a shame that he goes to the Dark Side.

Star Wars: Episode II-Attack of the Clones, the second of the prequels, was better than the first.  This movie is the reason I decided to watch the 3rd movie. Much more entertaining.  One of the reasons I liked it so much is the love story. To see the love story of Anakin and Padmé unfold makes you understand why Anakin does what he does and you understand how it was so easy for him to fall.

Star Wars: Episode III-Revenge of the Sith, the third and best of the prequels. At least in my eyes it is.  Constant action from start to finish. The best part, the “unveiling” of Darth Vader. From what I understand, the die-hard Star Wars fans love the Darth Vader suit.

I understand why people love these movies, and I like them enough to watch them again. Hopefully, I will grow to love them just like everyone else.  The true test, I think, will be the originals, but I’m really looking forward to watching those too and to hear that one line-“Luke, I am your father”.

One Response to “I Have Never Seen Star Wars”

  1. DaRtY August 16, 2011 at 3:51 pm #

    Congratulations on your Star Wars adventure!
    You should really watch 4-5-6. The story is better and leaves more room for imagination.

    Btw, someone really reads these things 🙂

Leave a comment